MALLF 2023 Resolution


WHEREAS, The 20 fellows of the 2023 Moreno/Rangel Legislative Leadership Program have ably served their fellow Texans during the 88th Legislative Session; and WHEREAS, The program is sponsored by the Mexican American Legislative Leadership Foundation, a nonprofit, nonpartisan organization established by the Mexican American Legislative Caucus to foster the development of leadership skills among Latino youth; in 2003, the foundation launched its fellowship to offer outstanding undergraduate and graduate students the opportunity to gain firsthand experience in the functions and operations of the Texas House of Representatives during a legislative session; it is named in honor of the late Paul C. Moreno, the longest-serving Hispanic member of the House, and the late Irma Rangel, the first Mexican American woman to serve in the Texas Legislature; and WHEREAS, In 2023, the program welcomed the largest class of fellows since its inception, including Abigail Guerra, Kimberly Guzm˜n, Carolina Vanegas, Marla Lopez, Nallely Najera, Pete Pascone, Alejandro Talamantes Martinez, Matthew Lopez, Azul Martinez, Herlinda Resendiz, Leslie Mireles, Maria “Mona” Ramirez Campos, Saul Fontes, Jose Camacho, Elena Tamez, Sol Macias-Thomas, Julio Mena Bernal, Arleth Amaya, Eloy Barrera, and Adison Denham; and WHEREAS, During the session, these 20 talented students worked alongside veteran staff on policy matters in the offices of