By: Neave Criado H.R. No. 2503

## RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, The Mexican American Legislative Caucus is

2 celebrating its 50th anniversary in 2023; and

3 WHEREAS, Founded in the Texas House of Representatives in

4 1973 by lawmakers of Mexican American heritage, the caucus is the

5 nation's oldest and largest Latino legislative caucus; its members

6 are dedicated to serving as a voice for a united Latino constituency

7 across the state; and

8 WHEREAS, The caucus has played a strong role in writing

9 legislation and shepherding it through passage; in the 1980s, it

10 pushed through the Bilingual Education Act, unemployment

11 compensation legislation that included farmworkers, and a minimum

12 wage bill for farmworkers; it also tamped down the "English-only"

13 movement; members later successfully fought to increase funding for

14 higher education in South Texas and the border region, and they

15 helped shape the redistricting process; in the 1990s, in light of

16 the growth of the Hispanic population, MALC opened membership

17 eligibility to House members of any race or ethnicity who represent

18 majority-Latino constituencies; and

19 WHEREAS, Paul Moreno of El Paso became the first chair of MALC

20 in 1975; the current chair, Representative Victoria Neave Criado,

21 is the first Latina to lead the caucus in three decades; the House

22 now has 17 Latinas, the largest number yet; and

23 WHEREAS, In addition to Chair Neave Criado, the current

24 caucus roster includes officers Vice Chair Christina Morales,

H.R. No. 2503

- 1 Treasurer Mary Ann Perez, Counsel Armando Walle, and Secretary
- 2 Armando Martinez, as well as Whip Ramon Romero Jr., Deputy Whips
- 3 Elizabeth Campos, Ana-Maria Ramos, Jessica González, Penny
- 4 Morales-Shaw, and members Sergio Muñoz Jr., Gina Hinojosa, Trey
- 5 Martinez Fischer, Bobby Guerra, Ryan Guillen, Richard Peña Raymond,
- 6 Erin Gámez, Lulu Flores, Joe Moody, Lina Ortega, Mary González,
- 7 Claudia Ordaz, Tracy O. King, John Lujan, Gene Wu, Diego Bernal,
- 8 Rafael Anchía, Philip Cortez, Eddie Morales, Oscar Longoria, Terry
- 9 Canales, J. M. Lozano, Ana Hernandez, Ray Lopez, Terry Meza, Abel
- 10 Herrero, Janie Lopez, and Josey Garcia; and
- 11 WHEREAS, Over the past half century, the Mexican American
- 12 Legislative Caucus has advanced issues important to the Latino
- 13 community while working to make the Lone Star State a better place
- 14 for all, and it is indeed appropriate to recognize its
- 15 contributions; now, therefore, be it
- RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 88th Texas
- 17 Legislature hereby commemorate the 50th anniversary of the founding
- 18 of the Mexican American Legislative Caucus and honor its members
- 19 for their service to the citizens of Texas; and, be it further
- 20 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 21 prepared for the caucus as an expression of high regard by the Texas
- 22 House of Representatives.